Bibles in South Africa

All languages with and without a free Bible Translation in South Africa
The flag of South Africa
Country code: ZA
Local name: South Africa
Total population: 59,308,690

The map shows only major languages originating from South Africa and neighboring territories.

There are 53 languages spoken in South Africa.

16 languages are extinct, almost extinct or moribund.

The Bible has been translated into 9 languages and 28 significant languages remains to be translated.

Would you like to help?

Bible Translations in South Africa

Significant languages in South Africa with at least one free Bible translation: Mandarin Chinese, German, Hindi, Swahili (individual language), English, Gujarati, Portuguese, Tamil and Urdu.

Significant languages in South Africa without a free Bible translation: Luwo, Oorlams, Pedi, Swati, Tsonga, Venda, Xhosa, Zulu, Angloromani, Birwa, Yue Chinese, Haiǁom, Khoekhoe, Kxoe, Kung-Ekoka, Morisyen, Sekele, Ronga, Shona, Tswa, Kalanga, Kgalagadi, Tswana, Southern Sotho, Tswapong, Eastern Yiddish, Afrikaans and Hakka Chinese.

If you know of a free Bible Translation in South Africa, not listed here, please let us know!